Skip to main content

Racially Minoritised Communities SIG

Racially Minoritised Communities SIG


Lived experience and robust data has highlighted unequal access and receipt of care, with specific groups being significantly more disadvantaged than others. Evidence describes that current models of healthcare provision, access and delivery are less impactful within Black, Asian and other racially minoritised communities and that this has significant repercussions on life expectancy, quality of life outcomes and healthy life years. The British Association of Sexual Health & HIV (BASHH) continues to strive to reduce inequality of access and improve the sexual health of the people of all nations within the United Kingdom.

The Racially Minoritised Special Interest Group is focussed on the sexual health needs, experiences and outcomes of people with an ethnic minority background. The group will improve the care this cohort of patients receive, educate those within the field, seek out and utilise existing evidence available, as well as create further meaningful data that identifies examples of high-quality care models, highlight racial health inequalities within the sector, and develop new methods and interventions with BASHH to assist in the promotion of equal care across all racialised communities. The group intends to distribute the best knowledge and share already used methods and techniques to support racially minoritized groups to accessing improved care that serves and supports their needs.


AIMS:

  • Promote best clinical practice in sexual reproductive health for racially minoritized communities at a strategic/policy level including: access to information, education, health promotion, prevention, treatment and care.
  • Review evidence-based guidelines and comment on local and national consultations in the area of racially minoritized populations on behalf of BASHH
  • Contribute to the development of guidelines and ensure targets and commitments are met through national and local audits
  • Engage and collaborate with BASHH SIGs and related community organisations to prioritise sexual health and recommend approaches for successfully executing this work among racially minoritized communities
  • Support health professionals to deliver culturally sensitive practice including cultural competence and humility in their practice.
  • Influence and encourage specific research within certain racially minoritized communities and disseminating to groups who would benefit from findings.

Skip to Documents Members

Steering Group

Rageshri Dhairyawan

Steering Group Member

Contact: rageshri.dhairyawan@nhs.net��

View Profile

Vanessa Apea

Steering Group Member

Contact: v.apea@nhs.net��

View Profile

Tomasz Nadarzynski

Steering Group Member

Contact: t.nadarzynski@westminster.ac.uk��

View Profile

Daisy Ogbonmwan

Steering Group Member

Contact: d.ogbonmwan@nhs.net��

View Profile

Annabel Sowemimo

Steering Group Member

Contact: annabel@decolonisingcontraception.com��

View Profile

Simphiwe Sesane

Steering Group Member

Contact: sim.sesane@nhs.net�

View Profile

Glenda Bonde

Steering Group Member

Contact: glenda.bonde@tht.org.uk�

View Profile

Harvey Kennedy-Pitt

Steering Group Member

Contact: harvey@blackbeetlehealth.co.uk�

View Profile

Isioma Igweike

Steering Group Member

Contact: i.igweike@nhs.net�

View Profile

jesal Gohil

Steering Group Member

Contact: jesal.gohil1@nhs.net�

View Profile

Yasmin Walters

Steering Group Member

Contact: yasmin.walters@nhs.net�

View Profile

Dwayne-Wilson Hunt

Member

View Profile

Jose Eduardo de Carvalho Peres

Member

View Profile

Other Members

Zoch Nwaosu

Interim Co-chair

Contact: zoch.nwaosu@nhs.net

View Profile

Frances Lander

Interim Co-chair, Secretary

Contact: f.lander@nhs.net

View Profile

Jose Trueba

Treasurer

Contact: jose.trueba@aymara.uk�

View Profile

Taslima Rashid

Steering Group Member

View Profile

Kyle Ring

Steering Group Member

View Profile

Shema Tariq

Steering Group Member

View Profile

Back to Members Documents

Name / Download Date
Terms of Reference 27 February 2024

My Special Interest Groups

If you are member of any special interest groups, please log in to view them