

<u>Minutes of the 7th Annual General Meeting of the</u> British Association for Sexual Health and HIV (BASHH)

Held at the Royal Society of Medicine

Friday 8th January 2010

The President, Dr I Ahmed-Jusuf, was in the Chair.

The meeting commenced at 16.35pm. 52 members were present and the meeting was therefore quorate.

- 1. Apologies for absence had been received from Dr Mike Abbott, Dr Elizabeth Carlin and Dr Karen Rogstadt.
- 2. The minutes of the sixth AGM held on 9th January 2009 were accepted as an accurate record (proposed by Dr Bingham, seconded by Dr Morgan).
- 3. The 2008/09 annual report, including the accounts, which had been adopted by the BASHH Trustees in December 2009, was received by the membership.
- 4. The Honorary Treasurer, Dr R Patel, made a brief statement highlighting some of the main features in the accounts. He commented that the favourable financial position of the Association was based on stringent reviews of the membership and journal databases and the substantial contribution, through gift aid, from the BASHH/ISSTDR2009 trading company. The accounts were accepted (proposed by Dr Basu Roy, seconded by Dr Greenhouse).
- Following the advice of the Honorary Treasurer, it was agreed that Farringdon and Company would be re-engaged as auditors (proposed by Dr Robinson, seconded by Dr Wilson).
- 6. The membership subscriptions for 2010/11, as set by the Board, were presented to the membership. Rates for all grades of membership are unchanged.
- 7. Amendments to the constitution were presented by Dr Clarke. The process of approval for membership, to clarify and expand clauses related to election qualification and to rename the NCCG group and related representative posts. These are detailed in Appendix 1.The constitutional changes were proposed by Dr Hawkins and seconded by Dr Poulter. A vote was taken and the motion was carried with 52 votes for, *nem con* with no abstentions.

 Dr R Basu Roy, Returning Officer, then announced the results of the following elections –

Independent Trustee - Prof J Ross

Officers: President-Dr KW Radcliffe; Vice President –Dr JD Wilson; General Secretary-Dr J Clarke; Treasurer- Dr R Patel; Chair of Education Committee – Dr K Rogstad ; Chair of Clinical Governance Group – Dr E Carlin. Elections to the Board. Fellows – Dr J Dhar Dr A Sullivan and Dr E Morgan; Health Adviser representative-Ms K Kain; Doctors in training representative- Dr A Williams; Staff and Associate specialists representative – Dr Helen Mullan. Elections to the Clinical Governance Committee – Health adviser representative Ms C Evans; Doctors in Training rep – Dr J Evans-Jones.

- The President then announced that the Board had awarded an Honorary Life Fellowship to Dr Pat Munday and to Professor Peter Piot.
- 10. The Chair of Trustees, Dr R Challenor, then made a brief statement at the end of her term of office. She described her past role as acting as an irritant for the benefit of the organisation. She commented on the continuing development of the Association, including the appointment of BASHH's first lay Trustee. The President led a vote of thanks for her invaluable contributions as a moderating and calm influence during a period of financial turbulence.
- 11. The President, Dr Ahmed, then made a short address summarising the work of the organisation over his presidency and thanking the Officers and members for their hard work and support. He then passed the Presidential regalia to the incoming President, Dr Keith Radcliffe. Dr Radcliffe then presented a vote of thanks to Dr Ahmed for the excellent work he had done over the preceding two years as President including collaborative work with many diverse stakeholders He presented Dr Ahmed with his Past President's medal and a pair of commemorative cufflinks.

The meeting was closed at 5.35pm.