Minutes of the 4th Annual General Meeting of the British Association for Sexual Health and HIV (BASHH)

Held at The Royal Society of Medicine in London Friday 12th January 2007

The President, Dr S Barton, was in the Chair. The President declared the meeting open at 4.17 p.m. Eighty-four members were present and the meeting was therefore quorate.

- 1. No apologies for absence had been received.
- 2. The minutes of the third AGM held on 13 January 2006 were accepted as an accurate record (proposed by Dr R Nandwani, seconded by Dr J S Bingham).
- 3. The 2005/06 Annual Report, including the accounts, which had been adopted by the BASHH Trustees in December 2006, was received by the membership.
- 4. Dr J Clarke, Honorary Treasurer, made a brief statement highlighting some of the main features in the accounts. Following her statement, the members were given the opportunity to put questions to her, but none were so put. The accounts were accepted (proposed by Dr M A Waugh, seconded by Dr P Kell).
- 5. Following the advice of the Honorary Treasurer, it was agreed that Farringdon and Company would be re-engaged as auditors – the actual auditor being Mr Jailesh Patel, with Mr Vipin Shah dealing with VAT (proposed by Dr J R W Harris, seconded by Dr M FitzGerald).
- 6. Membership subscriptions for 2007/08 were announced to the membership. These were unchanged from 2006/07.
- 7. The expenses policy was received by the membership.
- 8. The Trustees' undertaking was received by the membership, and accepted by them (proposed by Dr I Ahmed-Jushuf, seconded by Dr R Basu Roy).
- 9. The General Secretary, Dr K W Radcliffe then presented the proposed amendments to the BASHH constitution (see Appendix 1). The first of these related to changes to the current clause 8 to allow up to three additional Trustees who were not necessarily Fellows/Members of BASHH to be elected to assist the existing five Trustees, all of whom had to be Fellows of the Association. The General Secretary explained that the Trustees sort these powers to enable the skill-set of the Trustees to be widened beyond the confines of the speciality of genitourinary medicine. Lively debate followed upon this item, with various members expressing concerns that these new Trustees could exercise too much power over the running of the Association, and could cause unnecessary problems in the conduct of its business. Particular concerns were expressed at the number of additional Trustees that could be appointed if the amendment went through. Following lengthy discussion, the proposal was put to a vote by a show of hands with the following result: 43 for; 28 against; 13 abstentions. The two-third majority required under clause 122 of the constitution thus not having been obtained, this amendment was not passed.

The remaining proposed amendments – to clauses 11 and 59.12, and to clause 16 of the model branch constitution – were passed *nem com*.

10. Dr N Thin then announced the results of the 2006 round of elections on behalf of himself and his fellow Returning Officer, Dr B A Evans. The following were elected:
To the Board: Dr KW Radcliffe (General Secretary); Dr J Clarke (Honorary Treasurer); Dr J Wilson (Conference and Communications Secretary); Drs G Brook, C Estcourt and A Tang (Fellows);

Elected to the Clinical Governance Committee: Drs U Andrady, J Arumainaygam, A De Burgh Thomas, C Dimian, W Dinsmoor, S Forster, D Hawkins, D Kellock, U Kuchimanchi, D Mandel, A Nayagam, J Sherrard, C Skinner, J Sweeney, C Priestley, C White, A Winter, (Chairs of Regional Branches); Dr E Low (Representative of Doctors-in-Training; Ms C Tyler (Representative of Nurses and Health Advisers); Dr L Law (Representative of Staff and Associate Specialists).

- 11. The President thanked the Returning Officers. He then announced that the Board had conferred the honour of Honorary Life Fellowship upon two distinguished consultants in genitourinary medicine for their longstanding contributions to the field of sexual health and to the speciality society. These were Dr James Bingham, Guys and St Thomas's Hospital in London, and Dr Mohsen Shahmanesh of the Whittall Street Clinic and the University Hospital, Birmingham.
- 12. The Chair of the Trustees, Dr R Challenor, then made a brief statement expressing her thanks to her fellow Trustees, to the Officers and Board of BASHH, and to all Fellows and Members for their support of the Association in the preceding year.

Keith Radcliffe General Secretary

19 January 2007

Appendix 1

Proposed Amendments to BASHH Constitution at AGM on 12th January 2007

Clause 8

Existing clause: "The BASHH shall have five (5) trustees..."

Proposed new clause: "The BASHH shall have between five and eight Trustees..."

Plus a proposed new clause 8.5: "In addition to the five Trustees who are Fellows/Members and appointed/elected as set out in clauses 8.1-8.4 above, up to three additional Trustees may be appointed for a term of two years by a majority vote of the five BASHH Trustees. These additional Trustees do not need to be members of BASHH. Their terms of two years are renewable by a majority decision of the five BASHH Trustees taken before the end of their term."

Clause 11

Existing clause: "The Board shall nominate a deputy, other than an Officer as defined above, to act for any Trustee who has indicated an intended absence from the United Kingdom for a continuous period exceeding 2 months. The name of anyone deputising for a Trustee shall immediately be notified to the Charity Commission by the General Secretary."

Proposed new clause: An additional sentence to be inserted at the beginning to read:- "A meeting of the Trustees shall be deemed quorate if three or more of the Trustees who are Fellows/Members of BASHH are present." The rest of Clause 11 to remain unchanged.

Clause 59.12

Existing clause: "Representatives of each of the following to sit on the Board and the Clinical Governance Committee:

- I. Staff Grades and Associate Specialists.
- II. Nurse / Health Advisers.
- III. Doctors-in-Training.

The same or different representatives of each group may sit on the Board and the Clinical Governance Committee."

Proposed new clause: Initial sentence to read: "Representatives of each of the following to sit on the Board and the Clinical Governance Committee for a term of two years:

I. Staff and Associate Specialists. "

The rest of the clause to remain unchanged.

Clause 16 of Model Branch Constitution and Rules (Annex 2)

Existing clause: "The Officers should all be Fellows of the BASHH. The incumbents may stand for re-election at the end of their term of office for another post or for a position as an Ordinary Committee Member on the Committee and after a two year gap for the same post."

Proposed new clause: "The Officers shall all be Fellows of the BASHH. The Chairman may stand for re-election for a second consecutive term of two years, but must thereafter step down for a period of at least two years before seeking reelection as Chairman. All incumbents may stand for re-election at the end of their term of office for another post or for a position as an Ordinary Committee Member on the Committee, and after a two year gap for the same post."

Note: the full version of the current constitution and rules (dated 13 January 2006) is available on the BASHH website, or via the Secretariat.

Keith Radcliffe General Secretary 8th December 2006